Tue 17th Oct, 2017

Swansea University

COLLABORATE 2017 is on Tuesday 17th October, in Swansea University Singleton Campus. It’s free to attend:   


Professor Marc Clement Dean of School of Management & Executive Chair of the Institute of Life Science, Swansea University 

Councillor Rob Stewart Leader and Cabinet Member for Economy & Strategy, Welsh Assembly Government

Mark James Chief Executive for Carmarthenshire County Council 

Ifan Evans Welsh Government Lead for Health and Care Technology, Innovation, Industry Engagement and Strategy

Professor Shareen H. Doak PATROLS, Swansea University 

Dr Rhian Hayward Aberystwyth Innovation and Enterprise Campus, Aberystwyth University 

Professor Ian Weeks Head of the Medical School and Dean of Clinical Innovation, Cardiff University 

Jacqueline Marsh ASTUTE 2020, Manufacturing Systems Engineering, Cardiff University 

Dr Sean Jenkins University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD)

Matthew Bellis University of Wales Trinity Saint David (UWTSD)

Jon Wood Innovate UK 

Mark Drane Senior Architect & Studio Principal, IBI Group

Professor Hamish Laing Medical Director, ABMU

Helen Howson Director of the Bevan Commission

Dr Richard Lewis National Professional Lead for Primary Care, NHS Wales


There are four Breakout Sessions for delegates to select from at registration:

 1. Research and Innovation

- CHAIR Professor Gareth Jenkins Professor of Molecular Carcinogenesis, Swansea University

Professor Steve Bain Assistant Medical Director for Research and Development ABMU Health Board and Clinical Lead and Director for the Diabetes Research Unit Cymru

Joe Duran Director, Analytics and Performance Computing, Fujitsu Services 

Stephen Magowan Founder, Business Development Solutions Ltd

Christopher George British Heart Foundation 

 2. Health and Wellbeing

- CHAIR Bernardine Rees OBE Hywel Dda University Health Board 

Local Area Coordinator (LAC) 

Gaynor Richards MBE Director, Neath Port Talbot CVS

Professor Ann John Professor in Public Health and Psychiatry at Swansea University Medical School 

 3. Business and Engagement 

- CHAIR Helen Mary Jones Deputy Director, The Morgan Academy 

Dr Aled Eirug Morgan Academy 

Gerry Ronan Director of AgorIP, Swansea University 

Dr Gwyneth Davies Respiratory Consultant and Asthma Lead, ABMU Health Board 

Dr Keir Lewis Professor of Respiratory Medicine and Hon Chest Physician, Hywel Dda Health Board 

 4. Skills and Workforce 

- CHAIR Professor Andrew Davies Chair of ABMU Health Board 

Dr Heidi Phillips GP and Associate Professor, Swansea University Medical School 

Professor Phil Newton Director of Learning and Teaching, Swansea University Medical School 

Professor Ceri J. Phillips Head of College of Human and Health Sciences, Swansea University 

Kevin Smith Co-Founder, TrakCel Ltd 


An audience of over 300 people are expected, a vibrant mix of lay people, clinicians, academics, and local government officials. There will be excellent networking opportunities.